My Chicken Breeds

I have had several different breeds over the years. Some that I liked more than others, and some, that were OK, but probably wouldn’t have again.

Some of my favorite breeds are ones I have had for years. Like the Orpington breed. I have the Buff Orpington, but someday I would like to have the Chocolate, the Lavender, and the Jubilee. The Orpington is a very friendly breed. At least that has been my experiance.

2014-03-25 13.22.04

This is Clyde. He is my Buff rooster and the father of many of my mixed breed chickens.

This is Bonnie. She is 6 this year, my oldest hen.

2014-03-25 13.22.04

This is Hortence, my Easter Egger. I love this breed and would like to get more someday. She lays a blue egg. They started out mint green, but as she got older, they got more blue. Her daughters lay green eggs.

2014-03-25 13.21.52

This is Alice my Barred Rock. She was killed last summer by a Cyote. She is greatly missed.

2014-03-25 16.01.01

This is Cleo, my Black Star. I want to get another one someday. Not very friendly, but she is a good layer and she’s pretty to look at 🙂

dsc_0251.jpg

This is Suna, my Golden Sex Link. She is also a very sweet hen and lays a very lardge brown egg. Would like to get a Black Sex Link someday.

17887250_10155188303471624_620619736_o

This is Ry, my Blue-Laced Red Wyandotte. A very friendly hen and a good layer. Hoping the Silver-Laced chicks I have will be just as friendly.

DSC_0207

Along with the mixed breeds I have hatched from my chickes, I have a nice assortment of egg colors. From dark brown to white. With some green and blue mixed in.

One of my favorite things to do is mix the breeds to see what colore the hen or rooster will be and what color the eggs will be when they start to lay.

It will be interesting to see what I get when the chickes I have now are old enough to breed. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

